Nemaha County Commission

Submitted by Mary Kay Schultejans

The Board of Nemaha County Commissioners met in regular session on Monday, Oct. 23, in the Commissioner’s Room of the Nemaha County Courthouse. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Tim Burdiek leading the flag salute. Present also were Commissioners Dennis Henry and Gary Scoby, Road and Bridge/Solid Waste Supervisor Dennis Ronnebaum, Office Manager Kathy Haverkamp and Clerk Mary Kay Schultejans recording the minutes.

Department Reports

Ronnebaum advised the board that:

• Bridge Q-52, which lies on the Nemaha-Pottawatomie County line in section 32 of Neuchatel Township, is going to be replaced. Ronnebaum informed commissioners that Nemaha County will pay 22.4 percent of the 20 percent county match required for the bridge construction.

• He plans to send crews to get two more loads of salt this week.

• He spoke with someone who wants to install an additional entrance off of 146th Road near the viaduct in Seneca. Ronnebaum said that he plans to install a new tube at this location for this individual.

• He is still looking into applying for a grant to help purchase a new recycling baler. He shared with commissioners the current price of a new recycling baler. Commissioners advised him to move forward with applying for the grant.

• He still has crews hauling rock on county roads at this time.

Sheriff Rich Vernon advised the board that:

• They are currently holding 11 inmates in the jail.

• They booked eight individuals into the jail this past week.

• They are taking all new individuals arrested in Marshall County at this time until Marshall County’s jail is back up and running.

• New equipment is now being installed in the Dispatch Center to bring the county up to the newest generation of 911 equipment available.

Senior Services/Public Transit Director Diane Yunghans came before the board to ask commissioners to review and sign paperwork to be submitted for the Kansas Department of Transportation Grant for 2019. Commissioners signed the paperwork as presented.

Yunghans also spoke to commissioners about openings on the Nemaha County Council on Aging Board. Following discussion, commissioners appointed Sharon Haverkamp and Bob Bartkowski to the Nemaha County Council on Aging Board as alternate members.

Appraiser Betty Roeder came before the board to discuss with commissioners the purchase of a new vehicle for the Appraiser’s Office.

Also at the meeting:

The board reviewed and approved the minutes from the Oct. 16 meeting.

Commissioners signed appointment letters for Miles Hanzlicek and for Mike Clowe as presented, appointing them to the Nemaha County Fire District No. 3 Board.

The next regularly scheduled meeting was held on Monday, Oct. 30. These minutes were not available at The Herald’s press time.

The Sabetha Herald1899 Posts

The Sabetha Herald has been serving Sabetha since 1876.

Morrill City Council 9.4.18

Memories 9.19.18

SHS Volleyball 9.18.2018


What Are Your Thoughts?


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password