Filing deadline is June 1 for available seats

This year’s election ballot will be a heavy one, with numerous seats of interest to Sabetha and the surrounding area included at the area, state and national level.

Candidates have until June 1 to file for any of the open seats in area, state or national offices.

Anyone with questions concerning the filing or voting process should contact the Nemaha County Clerk’s office at 785-336-2170 or the Brown County Clerk’s Office at 785-742-2581.

City Positions

The City of Fairview has the position of mayor and two council members open for this coming election.

Levi Gunn is the incumbent mayor, and Margaret Wikle holds the filled council seat while the other is vacant.

County Positions

Both counties will be electing one county commissioner, both in district one.

The seat is currently held by Steve Roberts in Brown County, and by Gary Scoby in Nemaha County.

All Brown and Nemaha township clerk positions are up for grabs at this election, including the following: in Brown County, Hamlin, Morrill, Powhattan and Walnut townships; in Nemaha County, Adams, Berwick, Capioma, Gilman, Granada, Harrison, Rock Creek, Washington and Wetmore.

Republican and Democratic precincts in both counties will be electing a precinct committeeman and committeewoman. Precincts include the following: in Brown County, Hamlin, Morrill, Powhattan and Walnut townships; in Nemaha County, Adams, Berwick, Capioma, Gilman, Granda, Harrison-Goff, Harrison-Kelly, Rock Creek, Washington, Wetmore, Sabetha First Ward, Sabetha Second ward, Sabetha Third Ward and Sabetha Fourth Ward.

State Positions

Numerous state offices will be selected at this year’s election, including governor, attorney general, secretary of state, treasurer and insurance commissioner.

The District 62 seat for the Kansas House of Representatives, currently held by Republican Randy Garber of Sabetha, is up for grabs this year. Garber has filed for re-election.

Additionally, the position of District Magistrate Judge, District 22, Position 3 — currently held by Elizabeth Deiter of Sabetha — will be on this year’s ballot.

Voters also will decide whether to retain eight Kansas Court of Appeals judges. On the Kansas Court of Appeals, the terms of Judges Kim R. Schroeder, Tony Powell, Melissa Standridge, Henry Green, Stephen Hill, Patrick McAnany, Michael Buser and Thomas E. Malone are expiring.

Five seats — districts one, three, five, seven and nine — are up for election on the State Board of Education. However, none of these is the seat representing the local area.

National Positions

Nationally, all four Kansas district seats for the United State House of Representatives will be all the ballot this year. Incumbents include the following: district one, Republican Roger Marshall; district two, Republican Lynn Jenkins; district three, Republican Kevin Yoder; district four, Republican Ron Estes.

The district that includes the local voting area is district two, and Jenkins has announced that she does not plan to file for re-election.

Amber Deters110 Posts

Amber Deters is Co-Editor of The Sabetha Herald, where she has been on staff since 2005. She specializes in school board, election and legislative reporting, as well as photography and page and advertising design. Amber is a 2005 Kansas State University graduate with a degree in journalism and mass communications, print journalism sequence. She lives in Sabetha with her husband and three children.


What Are Your Thoughts?


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password