Marissa Peabody receives KAY scholarship

Marissa Peabody receives the Wanda May Vinson scholarship.

The recipients of the Wanda May Vinson Scholarships for 2018 have been announced by Cheryl Gleason, director of the Kansas Association for Youth (KAY) program, sponsored by the Kansas State High School Activities Association.

Local 2018 recipients include Marissa Peabody from Sabetha High School and Sara Kuckelman from Nemaha Central High School.

“Throughout my four years of high school, being involved in KAY has helped me gain skills and confidence that I will take with me into the future,” Peabody said.

The scholarship are awarded to graduating high school seniors who have provided outstanding leadership in the Kansas Association for Youth, achieve high scholastic standing, and have made contributions of service to their school and community.

“I have enjoyed spending time with my friends when we were creating memories through service projects such as our annual Rake & Run and nursing home visits,” Peabody said.

The honorees may use the money to attend the school of their choice. The scholarships, named for the founder and former director of KAY, Wanda May Vinson, are made possible through gifts from KAY members other supporters of the organization.

The year 2018 marks the 61st year for the scholarship. During this time, 542 students have received the scholarships, with scholarships totaling $122,000.00.


What Are Your Thoughts?


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password