District students selected for Kansas Honors Program

This fall, the Kansas Honor Scholar Program, a longstanding tradition of the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment, will honor more than 3,700 high school seniors throughout Kansas for their academic excellence and achievement.

Local students include Henry Glynn, Hillary Krebs, Hunter Lowdermilk, Norea Menold, Kate Strahm and Shayna Strahm from Sabetha High School; and Alyssa Davis and Joel Hutfles from Wetmore High School.

Scholars and their families are invited to attend any of the 13 regional ceremonies that is most convenient in terms of date and location.

Ceremonies will include speakers, recognition of the scholars, and a reception for scholars, families, school administrators and alumni. During the ceremony, students will receive distinctive Kansas Honor Scholar medallions that can be worn at their local graduations or recognition events. In addition, the Alumni Association will mail certificates to all high schools for distribution to all 3,700 Kansas Honor Scholars. For more information and to register online, visit kualumni.org/khs.

Since 1971, the program has honored more than 140,000 high school seniors — from all 105 Kansas counties and approximately 360 high schools — for ranking academically in the top 10 percent of their class. The program is made possible by KU Endowment, alumni donations and proceeds from the Alumni Association’s Jayhawk license plate program, and allows the University and the Alumni Association to create more scholarship opportunities for Kansas students.


What Are Your Thoughts?


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password