Busy Jayhawkers 4-H Club plans 80th anniversary celebration

Some of the current members of the Busy Jayhawkers 4-H Club gather for a photo on Monday, June 24. Pictured are FRONT ROW (L-R) Roman Geyer and Dean Farwell; MIDDLE ROW (L-R) Tristan Schmid, Isaac Schmid, Brecken Edelman, Reed Toedman, Mallorie Schultejans, Sydney Aberle, Ava Edelman, Addyson Farwell, Cole Meyer, Holden Edelman and Owen Geyer; BACK ROW (L-R) Reid Plattner, Spencer Strahm, Cheyan Rokey, Shayna Strahm, Kortney Plattner, Kendall Edelman and Molly Edelman.

The Busy Jayhawkers 4-H Club, which serves as the local club for Sabetha, is celebrating 80 years with a picnic.

All former Busy Jayhawkers members, leaders and parents are welcome to come together to celebrate with a Picnic Supper at 6 p.m. Friday, July 12, at the Albany Shelter. All food will be provided by the current 4-H Club.

At the celebration, Club members will be bringing projects to put on a special display. Former members are invited to bring any projects or memorabilia they would like to share. A balloon launch is planned following the picnic supper.

Any questions about the 80th celebration can be directed to Jeanelle Plattner, Michael Edelman, Tom Strahm or Darcie Jackman.

Club History

The Busy Jayhawkers 4-H Club was started in 1939, with the first club meeting being held at Summit School House. The School House, which originally was associated with the school district, was sold to the 4-H Club in 1958. It was moved to the Albany Historical Society grounds in 1979.

The first president was Arlene Ackerman, and Albert Ackerman was the first community leader. He served in that capacity for 25 years.

One noteworthy community project results in the Busy Jayhawkers winning the State Emergency Preparedness Award in 1977. Ten members took a first aid course, and then planned a CPR course given in the community.

The Busy Jayhawkers celebrated their 10th anniversary with a banquet at the Sabetha Country Club in 1949; their 40th with a picnic; and their 50th with a picnic and balloon lift-off.

Current Club

Currently, the Club has 42 club members from 20 families. Current leaders are Sue Rokey and Carrie Strahm.

The Club has outgrown the Schoolhouse where it met for many years, so meetings — with the exception of special meetings — now are held in the Community National Bank basement community room.

Amber Deters123 Posts

Amber Deters is Co-Editor of The Sabetha Herald, where she has been on staff since 2005. She specializes in school board, election and legislative reporting, as well as photography and page and advertising design. Amber is a 2005 Kansas State University graduate with a degree in journalism and mass communications, print journalism sequence. She lives in Sabetha with her husband and three children.


What Are Your Thoughts?


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password