School and Youth

Wetmore English teacher promotes Genius Hour

Submitted by Jossie Shumaker, WHS Student Correspondent Wetmore High School English teacher Linda Boyd, has started something new in her seniors’ English classroom for the second semester. One day each…

Read More

School Organization: United 4 Youth Countywide

The United 4 Youth Countywide board met in regular session Thursday, Feb. 8, at the United 4 Youth Board Office in Seneca. Board members present were Shannon Holthaus, Scott Anson,…

Read More

4-H Club: Woodlawn Meadowlarks

Submitted by Ella Sourk, Club Reporter The Woodlawn Meadowlarks 4-H Club have had a busy start to 2018. The club met on Saturday, Jan. 13, with the roll call discovering…

Read More

Post-Secondary Honors: Washburn University

Washburn University has announced the President’s List and the Dean’s List for the fall 2017 semester. To qualify for the President’s List, a student must be enrolled in 12 hours…

Read More

Sabetha native to participate in HCC production

Submitted by Samuel Smith Highland Community College Fine Arts Department opens the spring semester with the premiere of the new musical, “Dogfight,” opening Friday, March 8, in the Culbertson Theatre….

Read More

Area 4-H youth learn about government

                      Submitted by Deb Henry More than 300 Kansas youth stormed the Statehouse on Sunday and Monday, Feb. 18 and…

Read More

Scholarship: Harry C.M. Burger Scholarship available to Nemaha County students

Submitted by Tory Jost The Nemaha County STEP Foundation has announced the availability of the Harry C.M. Burger Nemaha County Scholarship (Burger II Scholarship). This scholarship will be awarded to…

Read More

Sabetha students, staff celebrate National FCCLA Week

                      Submitted by Kinley Schuette SHS FCCLA During the week of Feb. 12-16, our local chapter of FCCLA celebrated a…

Read More

Area youth serve as pages for Senator Dennis Pyle

Area youth serve as pages for Senator Dennis Pyle at the Kansas Capitol on Thursday, January 25. They received a historical tour of the Capitol building and had the opportunity... Read More

Area youth participate in K of C Free Throw Contest

Area youth participate in the Knights of Columbus District No. 1 Free Throw Contest held Sunday, February 11, at Sabetha High School. Winners were 9-year-olds Levi Thomas (14 out of... Read More

Highland students honored at All-Kansas Academic team luncheon

Three Highland Community College students joined 54 of their peers when Kansas saluted the 57 community college scholars for their academic accomplishments on Thursday, Feb. 15, in Topeka, during the…

Read More

4-H Club: Morrill Tip Top

Submitted by Carly Hartter Club Reporter The Morrill Tip-Top 4-H Club last met on Monday, Jan. 22, at the Morrill Community Building. Prior to the meeting, there was a 6…

Read More

Josh Compo signs Technical Letter of Intent

Joshua Compo, son of Steve and Deann Compo of Sabetha, signs his letter of intent at Washburn Tech for Machine Tool Technology on Thursday, February 15. Compo, second from left,... Read More

Laurel Smith earns second place at district Voice of Democracy contest

At an award presentation Wednesday evening; February 14; at Sabetha Memorial Post 7285 of the Veterans of Foreign Wars; Post Commander Tom Evans presents a $75 scholarship award from First... Read More

Kansas State University

Nearly 1,500 students completed degree requirements from Kansas State University in fall 2017. The graduates are from 86 Kansas counties, 40 states and 27 countries. The university awarded 1,233 bachelor’s…

Read More

Page 23 of 25


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password